Dinner Party on a budget

I just entered the Ultimate Host Competition sponsored by Sterling Vineyards.

The challenge was to host a party with a $75 budget using either Sterling Vineyards Vinters collection Chardonnay or Cabernet for 6 guests! The party was last night and it went so well. I was so pleased. It is a great thing I have a lot of dinnerware and decor. I only had to buy the wine, chicken and a few garnishes. I did not spend all of the $75 budget.

My theme was to focus on the seasons, well 2 of them. According to the calendar it is fall but according to the thermostat it is still summer. So I used my fall dinnerware and decor to serve a light summer meal. We were suppose to dine on the deck. However, mother nature had other plans. It has not rained here in a year. What rain we have gotten has been minimal and so scattered yet, last night it stormed. Luckily, I had everything prepared ahead of time. I was able to prepare the deck table take pictures and then reset the scene inside. It was such a shame not to dine under the stars but I am so thankful for the rain.

The dinner was: Goat cheese stuffed paquillo peppers sauteed in olive oil with capers, Piri-Piri chicken cesar salad and ice cream and brownies for dessert. Due to my allergy the marinade, dressing, croutons and ice cream were all made from scratch.

A HUGE thank you to all the great gals that made the party fun!

The winner will be announced on Monday and top entries will be posted on Facebook!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dinner Party on a budget

  1. The warm tones and organic textures of your table are wonderful. So inviting!

Leave a Reply

